Free Write Friday! #FWF

I came across a great blog post by Kellie Elmore and I thought I’d give it a try.  I don’t think I’ve done a free write based on a few select words since, maybe, grade school.

I was able to use all of the words: falsetto, blanket, cumbersome, cinema, and coins.

Here’s what I came up with:

I woke up 
to my neighbors falsetto
piercing the boundary
of the wall we share
 
tangled in the blankets
trying to hide 
from the coming day,
a cumbersome 
day of bills and schlepping
clothes to the coin laundry
 
I thought,
what if I just stayed
here in bed
until my limbs tingled
and ached from laziness
 
 Maybe I could run off
to the circus to fly
and feed the elephants
 
Or maybe just go shopping
or to the cinema, or anywhere
quiet.

Check that out! I like it for exactly what it is. A poem written simply by writing. No over worked wording or editing.  I’ll definitely be doing this more often. The practice of writing is is a good habit to have!

Thanks!

12 thoughts on “Free Write Friday! #FWF

  1. Nice take on the prompt, great to see you here! Free writing is awesome and I’m glad you enjoyed doing this, kellie’s prompts always bring out the unexpected. I look forward to reading more from you 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you! The prompt this morning was exactly what needed to get my writing mojo goin!. It’s great too because I’m finding lots of great writers and blogs just by following the threads. I’m excited to read you as well!

      Like

      1. Glad it was what you needed, it always gives my writing a kick in the butt when I’m in a rut. And yes, a lot of super talented people participate, I’m blown away each week!

        Like

  2. Being lazy actually sounds like a wonderful idea. 🙂 Kellie’s prompts have helped my muse too. It’s a great exercise and I look forward to it every week. Hope to see more from you. 🙂

    Like

  3. This is stunning! Your flow is lovely and I adore how I was able to just float along your train of thought as of they were my own. I love a good free write and this is one! Nice work! Thank you for joinging us and I hope you will again. 🙂 Happy to have you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

