Childhood Memories

i cracked my skull
open on a nightstand
corner

i remember the spiders
scurrying over my shoulders
and in my hair

Daddy rescued me

i wrote my name
in fuchsia lipstick
on a sheetrock
wall in the living
room

Mom said, “As long
as your hair looks nice
you can feel good about anything.”

Brother gave me a boost
so i could crawl through
the open side window
to unlock the front door

Mama and Boop
lived just down
the road

we could walk
there when we
were old enough

SheRa was my favorite
toy

2 thoughts on “Childhood Memories

Leave a Reply

