When I Was a Tree

When I was a tree
I talked with the sky
and the stars and the clouds
and other trees.
I felt the breeze roll over
my branches much like
I feel it on my shoulders
now but different still.
When I was a tree
the spongy bouncing of a squirrel
tripping from limb to limb
would make me laugh and squirm-
it tickled so. But I never dropped a
single one.
And growing such delicious
fruit to feed all the neighbors
ahh, yes. The feasts were delightful.

When I was a tree it seemed
I could do so much more.

When I was a tree
I was a better being.
I was better.

One thought on “When I Was a Tree

Leave a Reply

