The Accident (change is coming)

I died
in the crash.
          everything burst
forth like spores
breaching a membrane.

I see it happening
over and again
          plasma holds me
still
until the seat belt
strikes me across
the chest.
I’m thrown
back.

we fed the
pigeons
          pappadums
that day.

it bothers
me that I
          can’t remember
the funny thing
I said to you before
impact.

I see it happening
over and over and
            again
sound exists only
in a vacuum.

you were hurt
more than me.
          I couldn’t see.
Where you hurt at? tilting
my head didn’t help
me understand any
better. I was

still upside down
inside.
          I died in the crash.

are you okay?

3 thoughts on “The Accident (change is coming)

Leave a Reply

