This Woman’s Day

My 18 hour bra
just lost its last
20 minutes
and I’m trying to cajole
a smile from underneath
this grimace,
but it’s been a long day
a hard day-
a woman’s day

My control top
boa constrictors
didn’t control a damn thing:
not the launched coffee cup,
the paper avalanche
or the time on the meter
that was almost up,
just to let me know
it had been a long day
a hard day-
not this woman’s day.

And my high heels
didn’t elevate me above
anyone I wasn’t already
above and push held back
when in came shove
with a pink slip,
telling me it had been
a long day-
some other woman’s day.

But my lipstick
tells no lies
on the cheek
of my lover

‘cos we both
have had a long day
a hard day-
a woman’s day.

2 thoughts on “This Woman’s Day

Leave a Reply

